Circle Image

Prof Olanrewaju Adigun FAGBOHUN, SAN

Winner, National Productivity Order of Merit Award, 2019

Vice Chancellor
Profile Page

The Vice-Chancellor is the executive head of the University. The Vice-Chancellor has overall responsibility for the policy and administration of the Lagos State University in line with Section 10(1) of the Lagos State University Law, 2004 which states that the Vice-Chancellor ‘shall exercise the general supervision of the University, in addition to any other functions conferred on him by this Law or otherwise, of directing the activities of the University, and shall to the exclusion of any other person or authority be the Chief Executive and Principal Academic Officer of the University and Ex-Officio Chairman of the Senate.’
Professor Olanrewaju Adigun Fagbohun is one of Nigeria’s celebrated voices in the area of environmental law and advocacy for environmental preservation.  He is a native of Akesan in the Alimosho Local Government Area of Lagos State.  His father, HRM Oba Tajudeen Abayomi Alabi Fagbohun (Ogedengbe III) was the traditional ruler of Akesan Community.
Professor Fagbohun studied at the University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University) where he earned his Bachelor of Laws* and doctorate degree respectively and Master of Laws at the University of Lagos.  He began his teaching career at the Faculty of Law of the Lagos State University (LASU) in 1991. He lectured at LASU for 19 years at both undergraduate and post-graduate levels before joining the Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (NIALS) in 2009.

At different times, Professor Fagbohun has served as consultant and task leader for the United Nations Environmental Programme, the British Council, the European Commission, World Council on Genetics, University of Nottingham, the Harvard Medical School, the National Judicial Institute, and several State Governments among others.  He is an Assessor/External Examiner for MPhil/Ph.D programmes of a number of universities in Nigeria; the University of Forth Hare, South Africa; and the University of Amsterdam, Netherlands.  He is also on the Board of the Environmental Law Research Institute.

As at February, 2019, Professor Fagbohun has published one hundred and ninety-eight (198) articles in local and international peer reviewed journals.  He has also co-edited eleven (11) books and authored two (2) books that have earned acclaims and enthusiastic praises from reviewers, namely The Law of Oil Pollution and Environmental Restoration: A Comparative Review; and his influential inaugural work, Mournful Remedies, Endless Conflicts and Inconsistencies in Nigeria’s Quest for Environmental Governance: Rethinking The Legal Possibilities for Sustainability. His writing and environmental activism have inspired several budding scholars, political leaders and other members of the society of the need to protect the environment.

Among several others, Professor Fagbohun at different times was the Chairman, Lagos State Local Government Election Petition Tribunal; Member, Lagos State Water Regulatory Commission; Chairman, Editorial Board, Petroleum, Natural Resources and Environmental Law Journal; Editor-in-Chief, NIALS Journal of Environmental Law; Vice-Chairman, African Regional Forum of the International Bar Association; Regional Representative, Africa, Environment Health and Safety Committee of the IBA; Member, Regional Academic Network on IT Policies; Law and Policy Expert Think 20 Summit/Global Policy Dialogue Platform Conference on Sustainable Development; and Member, Expert Group for the Development of Climate Change Policy and Legislation for Nigeria.  He was one of the 19 experts globally selected in 2012 to work in the Task Force that produced the International Bar Association Publication titled Achieving Justice and Human Rights in an Era of Climate Disruption which was published in July, 2014.

He is also a recipient of several Awards within and outside Nigeria.

  1. National Productivity Order of Merit Award (NPOM), Federal Government of Nigeria, 2019.
  2. Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN), 2018.
  3. Outstanding Personality of the Year 2018 - Centre for Information, Press and Public Relations.
  4. NASU-LASU Best Vice Chancellor Award, 2019.
  5. LASU Maiden Edition of IBILE Day Celebration's Best Vice Chancellor Award, 2019.
  6. Best Vice Chancellor Award by the Lagos State University (LASU) Quality Assurance Implementation Committee, 2016.
  7. Award of Excellence - Air Marshal SB Abubakar DFS GSS psc (+)fwc fdc (+) BSc MSc, Chief of the Air Staff Nigerian Air Force
  8. Award of Excellence - Adekunle Ajanaku, fsi(+) State Director of Security (SDS) Lagos State Command Shangisha, Lagos.
  9. Kristieope Foundation 1st Annual Award in recognition of Prof. 'Lanre Fagbohun's support and understanding towards the Foundation in 2017
  10. Lagos State University (LASU) "MY CULTURE AND I" Award of Excellence 2017/2018 session.
  11. Kristieope Foundation Excellence Award – 2018
  12. Lagos State University Students' Union (LASUSU) Award of Excellence, 2017.
  13. Lagos State University College of Medicine (LASUCOM) Faculty of Dentistry, 2017.
  14. Award of Appreciation "Lead Papers Presenter" - 10th School of Management Studies National Conference
  15. Rotary District 9110, Nigeria - Rotary Club of Badagry Metro Meritorious Award for Excellence Performance in the Administration and Rebranding of LASU, 2016.
  16. Award of Honour by Lagos State University Model United Nations Society (LASUMUNS), 2018.
  17. Award of Appreciation by Lagos State University Students' Union (LASUSU), 2018.
  18. Award of Honour by the Lagos State University Students' Union (LASUSU) Parliamentary Council (SPC), National Parliamentary Summit, 2017.
  19. The Chartered Institute of Bankers of Nigeria (CIBN) Award of Excellence
  20. Honorary Fellow Institute of Entrepreneurs Award,
  21. Icon of Leadership Award - 5th Lagos State University Students Union Leadership Conferences, 2017.
  22. 29th Lagos State University Students' Union (LASUSU) Award of Excellence in recognition of Immense Support and Outstanding Leadership, 2019.

Professor Fagbohun is currently the 8th substantive Vice-Chancellor of the Lagos State University and he is married with Children.

University's Personalities

The Visitor (Lagos State Governor)
Governing Council
Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic)
Deputy Vice Chancellor (Administration)
University Librarian

Mr. Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu

The Visitor (Lagos State Governor)

Honourable Justice George Adesola OGUNTADE [JSC, CFR, CON, FNIALS, FSI]



Governing Council

Professor Adewale Olumuyiwa NOAH

Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic)

Professor Oyedamola Adebowale OKE

Deputy Vice Chancellor (Administration)

Mr Amuni Mohammed Olayinka



University Librarian

Mr. Said Babatunde OLAYINKA, FCA


Council Members