en güzel oyunlar takip 2018.com takipçi al sesli siteler

haberler elektronik sigara elektronik sigara ko cuce ko cuce

antalya rent a car kış lastiği

School of Communication


LASU Bulletin

VC's Desk


The Lagos State University, School of Communication (LASUSOC) (formerly Known as Lagos State University Adebola Adegunwa School of Communication (AASOC)), was established in the year 2000. This marked a watershed in the annals of communication education in Nigeria. Hitherto, the study of communication in Nigeria had always been limited to a single department within a Faculty, usually, Social Sciences and sometimes in the Faculty of Arts in some Nigerian universities. The establishment of LASU-AASOC in 2000 brought about a phenomenal change in Mass Communication education in Nigeria.
Sequel to the implementation of the report of a eleven man committee set up by the then State Government on 24th of August, 1998 during the reign of late Vice Chancellor, Professor Fatiu Akesode. The introduction of the full-fledge School of Communication accorded the study of communication in Nigeria its due recognition and the School has revolutionized the study of communication in the country.
The establishment of the School and its formal seven B.Sc. programmes (Book Publishing and Development, Communication Technology, Human Communication, Photojournalism and Cinematography, Print Journalism, Public Relations &Advertising and Radio and Television Broadcast) was approved by the University Senate at its 98th statutory meeting held on the 9th of July, 2000. Academic activities commenced in 2000/2001 Academic Session.
But in 2008, the School seven programmes were collapsed to one, Mass Communication; since then, degrees are only being awarded in Mass Communication for its undergraduate programme. Our students still have the opportunity to specialize in Broadcasting, Journalism and Public Relations and Advertising.
The School runs one programme and has three Academic Department, namely;

  1. Department of Broadcasting;
  2. Department of Journalism; and
  3. Department of Public Relations and Advertising.

For administrative purpose, the School has the following Service Departments:

  1. Registry Office;
  2. Bursary Department;
  3. Health Centre;
  4. Audit Department;
  5. Library;
  6. Counseling unit;
  7. Security Department; and
  8. Works and Physical Planning Department.

The School currently runs a Diploma, Postgraduate Diploma (PGD) in Communication Studies; Masters of Science (MSc) degree in Communication; a Professional Master Degree in Communication Studies (MCS) ; Master of Philosophy (MPhil) and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Communication . There is a staff population of 25 academics, 47 non-academic staff and over 300 students.
Thus the School has a team of seasoned professionals and scholars from diverse backgrounds which include, but not limited to Mass Communication, Language Arts, Theatre Arts, English Language, Instructional Technology, Information Science, Media & Conflict studies, Journalism, Broadcasting, Public Relations and Advertising.
The aim of the School is to produce high caliber graduates with requisite knowledge and skills to occupy various positions in the media industry, media training institute and information agencies of both Government and private sector organizations as well as international institutions.
The School produced its first set of graduates in 2005/2006 academic session and since then the School have been producing graduates form its full time programme and part time programme making waves in different sectors of the country’s economy. In response to the dynamics of national development and global needs, the school is in the process of re-designing its academic programmes and curricula.

Click here to